

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Chair Lenny Proctor

Vice Chair Alvin Stewart

Secretary
Joyce Little

Treasurer Larry Foster

Parliamentarian Derrick Lockhart

Sergeant At Arms Vontasha Simms

Historian Virginia Benedict

MEMBERS

Abena Affum-McAllister

Walter Carroll

Thomasina Coates

Melissa Davis

Lauretta Miles

Ralph Patterson

Ashleigh Phillips

Clarevonte "Clay" William

Russell Yates

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - September 07, 2021

SPECIAL PUBLIC HEARING:

Solicitation of Candidates for Charles County's Redistricting Commission

Sunday, October 10, 2021, 6:00 PM via ZOOM

On Sunday, October 10, 2021, the Charles County Democratic Central Committee (CCDCC) will convene a Special Public Hearing to:

Solicit Candidates for the Charles County Redistricting Commission:

Pursuant to Charles County Code Sec. 27-1B of the Charles County, Maryland Public Local Laws, which established the process by and timeline within which redistricting takes place in Charles County: The Charles County Commissioners must appoint a seven-person Redistricting Board prior to January 1, 2022. The Redistricting Board shall consists of two (2) appointees chosen by the Charles County Democratic Central Committee.

Once the Charles County Commissioners establish the Redistricting Board, the board shall convene no later than thirty (30) days after appointment to organize and select its Chairperson. Before July 1, 2022, the Redistricting Board shall convene and establish, after "due consideration and investigation" and "within reasonable and lawful guidelines" tentative boundaries of the four (4) Commissioner Districts. The timeline is dependent upon the release of the 2020 census data reports.

Eligibility Requirements and Instructions:

- No member of the Redistricting Board can be
 - an employee of the State of Maryland or Charles County Government
 - a member or candidate for any political office in the county, state, or United States
 - a member of staff of the governor, Maryland General Assembly, or United States Congress
 - a current registered lobbyist in the state or county
- Candidates must be a registered Democrat, for at least three years prior to the appointment and a bona fide resident of Charles County, Maryland. (Source: Maryland State Democratic Party By-Laws Article X, Section 3.)
- It shall be the duty and responsibility of each appointee to work in the interests of the Maryland Democratic Party and to further the purposes and policies of the party
- All persons interested in being considered for serving as the democratic representative on the redistricting board must send the following documents in PDF format to ccdccweb@gmail.com or CCDCC, PO Box 2710, La Plata, MD 20646 no later than Friday, October 1, 2021:
 - Letter of intent stating why you would like to serve on the redistricting board
 - Brief biography (Include your full name, address, date of birth) and resume
 - A copy of the applicant's voter registration card
 - Applicants must provide evidence regarding their residence (e.g., current copy of utility bill)
 - All applicants will be subject to a background and credit check
 - Documents received after October 1, 5:00 pm deadline and incomplete packets will not be considered